A Complete Guide to Every Walking Dead Spinoff

A Complete Guide to Every Walking Dead Spinoff

THE WALKING DEAD is the gift that keeps giving, and the increasing amount of series spinoffs means that fans may never have to leave the zombified world behind. The original Walking Dead premiered in 2010, and it followed Sheriff’s deputy Rick Grimes, played by Andrew Lincoln, as he readjusted to life after waking up from a coma to a zombie apocalypse where zombies, or “walkers,” were a constant threat to the human survivors.

The ensemble cast included Jon Bernthal (Shane), Danai Gurira (Michonne), Melissa McBride (Carol), Jeffrey Dean Morgan (Negan), Norman Reedus (Daryl), Lennie James (Morgan), Chandler Riggs (Carl), Lauren Cohan (Maggie), Alanna Masterson (Tara), and Steven Yeun (Glenn).

The show lasted for 11 seasons, and its series finale aired in November 2022. And while fans were sad when the show finished its run, the good news was that there was a plethora of spinoffs to come, including the most recent one, The Walking Dead: Daryl Dixon. So whether you’re in the mood for a Walking Dead rewatch or you’re a newbie to the world of walkers, here’s every The Walking Dead spinoff we know about—in order.

Fear the Walking Dead

The first of The Walking Dead spinoffs, it actually started airing in 2015 while the original was still running at full speed. The series starts off in Los Angeles, and the first three seasons are a prequel, with the fourth and following seasons running concurrently to the events of The Walking Dead. It follows a family at the start of the zombie apocalypse, and it expands to also follows members of their survival group. The series’ eighth and final season is currently airing.

Stream It Here

The Walking Dead: World Beyond

This limited series aired from 2020 – 2021, and was always designed to last for only two seasons. World Beyond is set in Nebraska ten years after the initial zombie apocalypse, and was seen as a coming-of-age story. The series features four teenagers as they venture out of the safe zone they’ve been living in for the first time.

Stream It Here

Tales of the Walking Dead

The 2022 anthology series features a totally different story in each episode, from the story of a mother-daughter duo to strangers who band together on the road. Keep an eye out for stars like Terry Crews, Olivia Munn, and Samantha Morton, as well as both old and new characters.

Stream It Here

The Walking Dead: Dead City

In the mood for some familiar faces? In this spinoff, Lauren Cohan and Jeffrey Dean Morgan reprise their roles as Maggie and Negan, and the duo travels into post-apocalyptic New York City to try and find Maggie’s son, who’s been kidnapped. The first season aired in June 2023, and it was renewed for a second season a month later.

Stream It Here

The Walking Dead: Daryl Dixon

Norman Reedus is back as Daryl, but this time he’s in a whole new country. He’s washed ashore in France, but he doesn’t know how or why he got there. The show will follow Daryl as he attempts to make his way back home while trekking through France. Daryl Dixon is currently airing on AMC and AMC+.

Stream It Here

The Walking Dead: The Ones Who Live

Originally titled The Walking Dead: Rick and Michonne, the new show is set after the conclusion of the original series, and Andrew Lincoln, Danai Gurira and Pollyanna McIntosh will reprise their roles as Rick, Michonne, and Jadis, respectively. There’s not much known about the plot right now, but the last time we saw Rick and Michonne, Michonne had decided to try and find him after finding out he was alive and not presumed dead as she thought. The series is currently scheduled to premiere in 2024.

More Tales from the Walking Dead Universe

the walking dead zombies

Gene Page/AMC

This upcoming spinoff will be another limited series that will likely feature new and old characters as the previous series did. Scott M. Gimple, Chief Creative Officer of AMC’s TWD Universe and co-creator of World Beyond and Tales of the Walking Dead, previously told Collider, “The thing with Tales, it didn’t end on this cliffhanger where you’ve gotta get back to that. It’s an anthology show. So, I’m hoping that we can get back to it, but it’s probably gonna be catch all as catch can, as far as within all the other shows.”

And if you want to skip around the shows and watch the spinoffs in the chronological order of the TWD universe, here’s your watching guide:

The Walking Dead universe in Chronological order:

Fear the Walking Dead season 1

Fear the Walking Dead season 2

Fear the Walking Dead season 3

Fear the Walking Dead season 4

Fear the Walking Dead season 5

The Walking Dead: World Beyond season 1

Fear the Walking Dead season 6

The Walking Dead: World Beyond season 2

Fear the Walking Dead season 7

Tales of The Walking Dead

Fear the Walking Dead season 8

The Walking Dead: Dead City

The Walking Dead: Daryl Dixon

The Walking Dead: The Ones Who Live

Headshot of Temi Adebowale

Temi Adebowale

Temi Adebowale was previously an Editorial Assistant at Men’s Health, covering shows like Survivor, Peaky Blinders, and Tiger King. Prior to her entertainment work at MH, she was Newsroom Fellow, writing news stories across Hearst Digital Media’s brands. Temi likes Rihanna, the StairMaster, and tacos.

Read More






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *